New cabinet: division of ministries finalised

The three parties making up the new Dutch centre-left coalition government completed the division of ministerial posts on Monday night. The Christian Democrats, the biggest party in parliament, is heavily represented in the socio-economic sectors such as health, social and economic affairs.

Labour (PvdA) dominates areas where government spending is to be sharply increased such as education and urban renewal.
The posts of junior ministers (staatssecretarissen) have also been divided up: the CDA gets four, PvdA six and ChristenUnie (CU) one.
Junior ministers are members of the cabinet but not members of the council of ministers. They are always from a different party to the minister and tend to take responsibility for one particular aspect of their ministry’s work, such as sport or culture.
Christian Democrats:
Ministers: Prime minister; Social affairs; Economic affairs; Health, welfare and sport; Foreign affairs; Justice; Transport and water; Agriculture
Junior ministers: Home affairs; Education; Finance; Defence
Ministers: Finance; Home affairs; Education; Integration and urban renewal; Development aid; Environment
Junior ministers: European affairs; Social affairs; Justice; Health, welfare and sport; Education; Economic affairs
Ministers; Defence; Youth and family affairs
Junior ministers: Transport and water

Thank you for donating to

We could not provide the Dutch News service, and keep it free of charge, without the generous support of our readers. Your donations allow us to report on issues you tell us matter, and provide you with a summary of the most important Dutch news each day.

Make a donation