Sunday 23 January 2022

Four Dutch banks will fall under European banking supervision

Four big Dutch banks will fall under European central bank supervision in 2014 when new rules agreed by European finance ministers come into effect.

The European central bank is taking charge of banks with over €30bn on their balance sheets, which are regarded as too big to fail and are of crucial importance to the financial sector: ING, Rabobank, ABN Amro and SNS.
Wim Mijs, director of the Dutch banking association and chairman of the European banking federation EBF told Nos television the new layer of monitoring will have little effect on the Dutch banks.

Banking union

The Dutch central bank will remain the primary supervisory authority and the central bank will only intervene when necessary, Mijs pointed out.
The €30bn limit means smaller Dutch banks such as Van Lanschot Bankiers and Triodos remain outside the European supervisory system.
In total, around 200 banks will fall under the European central bank. The move is regarded as a first step towards full European banking union.
More on this
A good move? Have your say using the comment form below.

Thank you for donating to

The team would like to thank all the generous readers who have made a donation in recent weeks. Your financial support has helped us to expand our coverage of the coronavirus crisis into the evenings and weekends and make sure you are kept up to date with the latest developments. has been free for 14 years, but without the financial backing of our readers, we would not be able to provide you with fair and accurate news and features about all things Dutch. Your contributions make this possible.

If you have not yet made a donation, but would like to, you can do so via Ideal, credit card or Paypal.