Finland, Lithuania, Estonia get tough on Dutch travellers, more restrictions in Spain

A passenger in an airport terminal
Photo: Depositphotos
Photo: Alex Nicholls-Lee

A rise in coronavirus cases in both the Netherlands and abroad has prompted changes in the official travel advice to several European countries. Here is a round-up of the latest restrictions, in alphabetical order.

The Dutch foreign office has upped its travel warning for the province of Antwerp to code orange, meaning all but essential travel should be avoided.

There is a 11.30pm curfew in Antwerp itself and face masks are compulsory for the over 12s in shops, cinemas, theatres, museums and outdoors in some coastal resorts. Cafe and restaurant clients should also wear a mask while moving around the premises, but not while seated at their table.

People from the Netherlands are free to travel to Germany but can be checked for coronavirus symptoms on entering the country. The social distancing requirement in Germany is 1.5 metres.

Face masks are compulsory in places where social distancing is impossible and beaches are closed to all but locals.

The Netherlands has just increased its travel advice for Estonia to code orange, meaning avoid all but essential travel, in response to Estonia’s new restrictions on people from the Netherlands.

Like Estonia, the Netherlands now warns against all but essential travel. Finland has also introduced new restrictions for Dutch holidaymakers, limiting admittance to people with essential business, with a 14-day period of quarantine.

The Netherlands has just increased its travel advice for Lithuania to code orange, meaning avoid all but essential travel. This follows Lithuania’s decision to introduce a travel ban on all people from the Netherlands because of the rising number of coronavirus cases.

The Dutch foreign affairs ministry has added more regions to the code orange list and has warned that the number of coronavirus cases is rising in all parts of the country. People holidaying in Spain are being urged to stay alert and follow the latest developments. Visitors to the code orange regions should go into quarantine on their return home.

The ministry has also said that tourists who find themselves stranded because of changes in the coronavirus regulations will not be repatriated by the government.

Information sources from the government travel advice website and the Telegraaf.

Thank you for donating to

We could not provide the Dutch News service, and keep it free of charge, without the generous support of our readers. Your donations allow us to report on issues you tell us matter, and provide you with a summary of the most important Dutch news each day.

Make a donation