Average speed cameras to be placed on high-risk provincial roads

Average speed cameras are to be introduced on 11 provincial roads in an attempt to cut the rate of accidents and deaths in traffic.

The cameras will be placed on N roads with two or four lanes in five provinces – Friesland, Flevoland, Utrecht, Zeeland and Limburg. The stretches of road have been chosen because they have a high accident rate or drivers regularly exceed the speed limit on them.

‘Our experience has found that drivers keep more closely to the speed limit over a long distance where there are average speed checks,’ said the public prosecution department in a statement announcing the move.

The cameras are expected to be switched on over the next two years.

The complete list of speed camera locations


N706 Vogelweg between A27 and Lelystad Airport


N351 between Wolvega and Oosterwolde
N381 between Drachten and Donkerbroek


N275 between Blerick and Nederweert
N564 between Weert and the Belgian border
N277 between Ysselsteyn and Zeeland
N270 between Venray and Ysselsteyn


N230 Utrecht, provincial section of the Zuilen ring road (eastern section)
N414 between Eembrugge and Bunschoten


N253 Rondweg Sluis
N256 Zeelandbrug

Thank you for donating to DutchNews.nl.

We could not provide the Dutch News service, and keep it free of charge, without the generous support of our readers. Your donations allow us to report on issues you tell us matter, and provide you with a summary of the most important Dutch news each day.

Make a donation