Dutch hockey stars sign up for Indian competition

A number of former Dutch hockey internationals are planning to play in an Indian competition in January and cash in on their reputations, BNR radio reports on Thursday.

Teun de Nooijer, Taeke Taekema, Floris Evers, Wouter Jolie, Marcel Balkestein, Jaap Stockmann, Jeroen Hertzberger and Sander Baart have signed up to take part in the Hockey India League, a professional competition between January 5 and February 3.
Six teams are taking part in the event, with 14 Indian players and 10 from abroad. The Dutch players who get ‘bought at auction’ will earn between €2,350 and €19,600 for taking part.
The event has been recognised by the world hockey body, BNR said.

Thank you for donating to DutchNews.nl.

We could not provide the Dutch News service, and keep it free of charge, without the generous support of our readers. Your donations allow us to report on issues you tell us matter, and provide you with a summary of the most important Dutch news each day.

Make a donation