Johan Cruijff expected to leave Ajax board as last member

Johan Cruijff is expected to leave his post as supervisory board member at Ajax on Tuesday, bringing a long-running row at the club to an end.

His departure will follow that of the two other remaining board members, Edgar Davids and Marjan Olfers. The other two of the five-man board left earlier this year.
The row blew up shortly after Cruijff returned to Ajax early in 2011, when his four fellow supervisory board members appointed Louis van Gaal as interim general director without consulting him.
Court ruling
Cruijff and Van Gaal do not get on and Cruijff eventually took the case to court. In February 2012, the Amsterdam appeal court halted the appointment.
After months of negotiations, it was agreed that the supervisory board would resign with Cruijff as the last to leave.
The new supervisory board will take office almost immediately. Thoe van Duivenbode, former player at Ajax and Feyenoord and CEO of SR health insurers, Leo van Wijk, CEO of Air France-KLM, and Hans Wijers, CEO of AkzoNobel will begin by seeking two other new board members.

Thank you for donating to

We could not provide the Dutch News service, and keep it free of charge, without the generous support of our readers. Your donations allow us to report on issues you tell us matter, and provide you with a summary of the most important Dutch news each day.

Make a donation