Dutch squad named for Olympic football

Dutch football coach Foppe de Haan named his 18-man squad for the Beijing Olympics on Tuesday.

Under Olympic rules, professionals may play, but the team can only include three players aged over 23.
As part of its warm-up, the team will play Belgium’s Olympic team in Gent on July 23.
Keepers: Piet Velthuizen (Vitesse), Kenneth Vermeer (Ajax)
Defence: Kew Jaliens (AZ), Calvin Jong-A-Pin (Heerenveen), Kees Luijcks (AZ), Dirk Marcelis (PSV), Erik Pieters (PSV), Gianni Zuiverloon (West Bromwich Albion)
Midfield: Otman Bakkal (PSV), Urby Emanuelson (Ajax), Jonathan de Guzman (Feyenoord), Hedwiges Maduro (Valencia), Evander Sno (Celtic)
Attack: Roy Beerens ( Heerenveen), Ryan Babel (Liverpool), Royston Drenthe (Real Madrid), Roy Makaay (Feyenoord), Gerald Sibon (Heerenveen).
Reserves: Nordin Amrabat (PSV), Siem de Jong (Ajax), Tim Krul (Newcastle United), Christian Kum (ADO Den Haag)
Standby list: Ismail Aissati (PSV), Istvan Bakx (KV Kortrijk), Wout Brama (FC Twente), Luigi Bruins (Feyenoord), Lorenzo Davids (NEC), Ryan Donk (AZ), Henrico Drost (Heerenveen), Marvin Emnes (Middlesbrough), Tom Hiariej (FC Groningen), Jeremain Lens (AZ), Frank van der Struijk (Vitesse).

Thank you for donating to DutchNews.nl.

We could not provide the Dutch News service, and keep it free of charge, without the generous support of our readers. Your donations allow us to report on issues you tell us matter, and provide you with a summary of the most important Dutch news each day.

Make a donation