Saturday 13 August 2022

D66 MP Vera Bergkamp is the new parliamentary chairwoman

Vera Bergkamp hears she has won. Below Khadija Arib. Photo: Remco de Waal ANP

D66 MP Vera Bergkamp has won the vote to become the new chairwoman of the lower house of the Dutch parliament, beating sitting chairwoman Khadija Arib (PvdA) and deputy chairman Martin Bosma from the anti-Islam PVV.

Bergkamp took 74 out of 139 votes in the first round, with Arib on 38 and Bosma on 27.

In her acceptance speech, Bergkamp stressed that she would chair parliament on behalf of all parties.

‘We face an enormous task,’ she said, before going on to refer to the tax benefit scandal, the planned move of the lower house to a new location while the current building is renovated and the fact there are now 17 parties in parliament.

Thank you for donating to

The team would like to thank all the generous readers who have made a donation in recent weeks. Your financial support has helped us to expand our coverage of the coronavirus crisis into the evenings and weekends and make sure you are kept up to date with the latest developments. has been free for 14 years, but without the financial backing of our readers, we would not be able to provide you with fair and accurate news and features about all things Dutch. Your contributions make this possible.

If you have not yet made a donation, but would like to, you can do so via Ideal, credit card or Paypal.