Wednesday 21 October 2020

Dutch government extends non-essential travel ban to May 15


The Dutch government has extended its ban on non-essential travel to the Netherlands until May 15.

The restriction, introduced on March 18 to contain the spread of coronavirus, does not apply to citizens of the EU, the UK, Norway, Iceland or Switzerland.

Third-country nationals with long-stay visas or a permanent residency permit are also exempt from the rule. There is also a list of exempt professions including diplomats, the armed forces, lorry drivers and those working for international or humanitarian reasons.

Anyone with ‘compelling reasons to visit family members’ or who requires international protection can also be exempted.

Thank you for donating to

The team would like to thank all the generous readers who have made a donation in recent weeks. Your financial support has helped us to expand our coverage of the coronavirus crisis into the evenings and weekends and make sure you are kept up to date with the latest developments. has been free for 14 years, but without the financial backing of our readers, we would not be able to provide you with fair and accurate news and features about all things Dutch. Your contributions make this possible.

If you have not yet made a donation, but would like to, you can do so via Ideal, credit card or Paypal.