Monday 22 July 2019

The Netherlands to take in some Sea Watch migrants under Maltese deal

The Sea Watch 3. Photo: Sea Watch

The Netherlands is one of eight countries which will take in some of the 32 migrants who have been living on a boat since they were rescued from off the coast of Libya nearly three weeks ago.

The Sea Watch 3, operated by German aid group Sea-Watch, is sailing under the Dutch flag and has been looking for a port to dock in. Malta now cleared the way for them to disembark.

The Netherlands, Germany, France, Portugal, Ireland, Romania, Luxembourg and Italy have offered to take in the group, which includes six minors, three of whom were travelling alone.

Seventeen people on board another ship and 249 rescued migrants already in Malta will also be divided up between the eight countries as part of the deal, Malta said.

According to the Telegraph, of the total, 176 would be sent to Germany, France, Portugal, Ireland, Romania, Luxembourg, the Netherlands and Italy.

Another 78 will be allowed to stay in Malta, and 44 Bangladeshi migrants will be sent back to their country.

Junior immigration minister Mark Harbers told the NRC that the decision to take in the six migrants is a ‘rotten’ one.

‘And next time they will have to float around for longer because the Netherlands will not take part,’ the paper quoted him as saying. has been free for 12 years, but now we are asking our readers to help. Your donation will enable us to keep providing you with fair and accurate news and features about all things Dutch.
Donate via Ideal, credit card or Paypal.