Sunday 04 December 2022

Three Dutch MPs banned from entering Russia: foreign ministry (update)

Prime minister Mark Rutte on Friday condemned the decision by Moscow to ban three Dutch parliamentarians from entering Russia.

The names are said to be on a list drawn up by Moscow of EU citizens who are no longer allowed into the country. The list, delivered to the Dutch embassy in Moscow on Thursday, is thought to be in retaliation for EU sanctions following the annexation of Crimea, the AD says.

‘The Russian list lacks all foundation, is not transparent and has to be taken as read,’ the prime minister said on Friday afternoon. ‘We condemn Russia’s actions and we have told them so,’ Rutte said.

According to broadcaster Nos, two members of the lower house of parliament and one MEP have been stopped from entering the country. Former PVV parliamentarian Louis Bontes said in Friday’s AD he is one of those affected.

Bontes, who described the list as ‘bizarre’, recently called Russian president Vladimir Putin a ‘KGB crook’.

The other two are Labour MP Michiel Servaes and Hans van Baalen, who represents the VVD in Europe. Servaes said he has no idea why he has been included and described the list as ‘absurd’, the Post Online reported.

Thank you for donating to

The team would like to thank all the generous readers who have made a donation in recent weeks. Your financial support has helped us to expand our coverage of the coronavirus crisis into the evenings and weekends and make sure you are kept up to date with the latest developments. has been free for 14 years, but without the financial backing of our readers, we would not be able to provide you with fair and accurate news and features about all things Dutch. Your contributions make this possible.

If you have not yet made a donation, but would like to, you can do so via Ideal, credit card or Paypal.