The final list: 28 parties are contesting the general election

In total 28 parties have made the final cut and will appear on the ballot box for the March 15 general election, the election council said on Friday.

Three of the shortlist of 31 failed to come up with the necessary €11,250 deposit and are not now allowed to take part.

Of the 28, 16 will collect votes in all 20 electoral districts – others failed to gather enough supporting signatures to stand in every location.

The oldest and youngest potential MPs are aged 93 and 16 and both running for the pro-animal PvdD, the electoral council said.

Observers say a coalition of at least four parties is likely to be necessary to form a new government after the vote.

This is the full list of parties in the order they will appear on the ballot paper.

1. VVD
2. Partij van de Arbeid (PvdA)
3. PVV (Partij voor de Vrijheid)
4. SP (Socialistische Partij)
5. CDA
6. Democraten 66 (D66)
7. ChristenUnie
9. Staatkundig Gereformeerde Partij (SGP)
10. Partij voor de Dieren
11. 50PLUS
12. OndernemersPartij
13. VNL (VoorNederland)
14. Denk
15. Nieuwe Wegen
16. Forum voor Democratie
17. De Burger Beweging
18. Vrijzinnige Partij
19. GeenPeil
20. Piratenpartij
21. Artikel 1
22. Niet Stemmers
23. Libertarische Partij (LP)
24. Lokaal in de Kamer
25. Jezus Leeft
26. StemNL
27. MenS en Spirit/Basisinkomen Partij/V-R
28. Vrije Democratische Partij (VDP)

Thank you for donating to

We could not provide the Dutch News service, and keep it free of charge, without the generous support of our readers. Your donations allow us to report on issues you tell us matter, and provide you with a summary of the most important Dutch news each day.

Make a donation