Junior justice minister voted journalists’ politician of the year

klaas dijkhoffJunior justice minister Klaas Dijkhoff has been voted politician of the year by members of the parliamentary press for his ‘sober and impassive’ approach to the refugee crisis.

The vote comes a day after Dijkhoff was censured by parliament for his role in altering a press release about a 4.7 million guilder deal between the justice ministry and a drugs dealer.

Despite this, the jury praised Dijkhoff, 34, for his calm approach to an ‘inflammatory’ issue and the fact that he has avoided ‘populist postulating’ since his appointment in March. Dijkhoff was by far the winner, scoring 86 points.

Second on the list was new GroenLinks leader Jesse Klaver with 57 points and CDA leader Sybrand Buma was third with 32.

Earlier this month, the viewers of television show EenVandaag voted Geert Wilders politician of the year. Wilders was joint seventh in the parliamentary vote with eight points.

Thank you for donating to DutchNews.nl.

We could not provide the Dutch News service, and keep it free of charge, without the generous support of our readers. Your donations allow us to report on issues you tell us matter, and provide you with a summary of the most important Dutch news each day.

Make a donation