MPs to investigate which MPs leaked confidential information

Dutch ParliamentThe make-up of a special committee of MPs charged with finding out who leaked confidential information given to another committee of MPs was finalised on Tuesday.

Seven MPs have been charged with identifying the source of the leak from parliament’s security committee, nicknamed the Commissie Stiekem or ‘sneaky’.

Michiel van Nispen (SP), Madeleine van Toorenburg (CDA), Carola Schouten (ChristenUnie), Raymond de Roon (PVV) and Vera Bergkamp (D66) will represent the opposition. Jeroen Recourt will join the committee on behalf of the PvdA and Mark Harbers represents the VVD.

Parliament’s ruling body agreed last week to set up the special committee to investigate claims that one or more MPs leaked highly confidential information to the media. The decision came after the public prosecution department said that there had been a leak of sensitive information which had been given to party leaders in confidence.

The leak focuses on the government’s repeated denial in 2013 that details about 1.8 million phone calls and internet messages made in the Netherlands were passed to the US security services.

Home affairs minister Ronald Plasterk was later forced to backtrack after claims were made in the media he had told a parliamentary committee which deals with confidential security issues about the information agreement with the US.

The investigating committee’s exact terms of reference still have to be decided.

Thank you for donating to

We could not provide the Dutch News service, and keep it free of charge, without the generous support of our readers. Your donations allow us to report on issues you tell us matter, and provide you with a summary of the most important Dutch news each day.

Make a donation