Hein Otterspeer takes silver in world sprint speed skating event

Hein Otterspeer won the silver medal at the World Cup sprint speed skating championships in Astana, Kazakhstan on Sunday. The title, which has been held by the Dutch for the past three years, went to Pavel Kulizhnikov of Russia.

Defending champion Michel Mulder, who also took the title in 2013, was fourth. Otterspeer took the bronze medal in 2013.

In the women’s event, Margot Boer and Thijsje Oenema were the highest placed Dutch skaters in seventh and ninth place. The title went to Brittany Bowe of the US.

The Dutch women sprinters were last on the winners’ podium in 2011, when Boer took bronze and Annette Gerritsen won silver.

The championships are held over a two-day period, with the skaters racing one 500 meter and one 1,000 meter race each day.

More on the competition

Thank you for donating to DutchNews.nl.

We could not provide the Dutch News service, and keep it free of charge, without the generous support of our readers. Your donations allow us to report on issues you tell us matter, and provide you with a summary of the most important Dutch news each day.

Make a donation