Animal rights MPs refuse loyalty oath to the new king

Party leader Marianne Thieme, MP Esther Ouwehand and senator Niko Koffieman from the animal rights party PvdD will not swear the oath of allegiance to the new king on April 30.

The three announced on Tuesday they will congratulate Willem-Alexander after his inauguration but will not swear the oath which ‘implies a certain loyalty to the new king’, according to Nos television.

‘As a parliamentarian you can then not fulfil your task without a weight on your shoulder or consultation,’ Thieme told the Volkskrant.

All members of the upper and lower house are asked to swear loyalty to the king on April 30. Two Socialist party MPs have already refused to do so.

Thank you for donating to

We could not provide the Dutch News service, and keep it free of charge, without the generous support of our readers. Your donations allow us to report on issues you tell us matter, and provide you with a summary of the most important Dutch news each day.

Make a donation