New cabinet to be sworn in by queen Beatrix , live on television

New ministers will be sworn in by queen Beatrix on Monday morning and for the first time in history, the event will be broadcast live on television.

Only new ministers rather than the entire 13-strong cabinet, will go through the process. Several current ministers are staying on in Mark Rutte’s new administration.
Once the ceremony has been completed, the ministers will pose with the queen for the traditional photograph on the steps of the Huis ten Bosch palace, unless it is raining.
Junior ministers
Once the ministers have left, the seven junior ministers (staatssecretarissen) will also be sworn in. They are not part of the cabinet and will not appear on a photograph with the queen.
The first cabinet meeting of the new government will take place this afternoon. will publish a two-page pdf listing all the ministers with mini-biographies, the main points of the new cabinet’s plans and a look at the opposition, later on Monday.

Thank you for donating to

We could not provide the Dutch News service, and keep it free of charge, without the generous support of our readers. Your donations allow us to report on issues you tell us matter, and provide you with a summary of the most important Dutch news each day.

Make a donation