Women’s premier football league saved

Six clubs are taking part in the formal premier division for women’s football next season, after fears the division might be abandoned.

Ado Den Haag, VVV-Venlo, FC Twente, FC Utrecht, SC Heerenveen and FC Zwolle have agreed to continue the efforts to professionalise women’s football. Willem II and AZ have both pulled out.

Thank you for donating to DutchNews.nl.

We could not provide the Dutch News service, and keep it free of charge, without the generous support of our readers. Your donations allow us to report on issues you tell us matter, and provide you with a summary of the most important Dutch news each day.

Make a donation