Three World Cup speed skating titles for the Netherlands

Speed skater Stefan Groothuis won the World Cup for the 1,000 metres on Sunday, after coming third in the event in the previous two seasons.

Bob de Jong took the overall 5,000 metres title while the Dutch women’s team took the team pursuit title.
The Speed Skating World Cup is a series of international speed skating competitions, organised yearly by the International Skating Union. Ten titles are awarded every season: five for men and five for women.

Thank you for donating to

We could not provide the Dutch News service, and keep it free of charge, without the generous support of our readers. Your donations allow us to report on issues you tell us matter, and provide you with a summary of the most important Dutch news each day.

Make a donation