New cabinet to be sworn in Thursday

The new minority cabinet made up of the right-wing VVD Liberals and the Christian Democrats will be sworn in on Thursday, news agency ANP reports.

Prime minister designate Mark Rutte’s team is made up of 11 ministers and eight junior ministers, making 20 in total.
Just four ministers are female and none have a minority background. Five are sitting ministers or have been ministers and eight are MPs. Just one, junior health minister Marlies Veldhuijzen van Zanten Hyller, is a new face in The Hague.
MPs who are promoted to ministries will be replaced in parliament by new faces – six from the VVD and two CDA supporters.
The new cabinet will hold its first meeting on Friday.
The minority cabinet will be supported in parliament by the anti-Islam PVV, led by Geert Wilders. This gives the new government a narrow majority of just one in the 150 seat parliament.
Deputy prime minister, and minister for economic affairs, agriculture and innovation: Maxime Verhagen (CDA)
Social affairs and employment: Henk Kamp (VVD)
Home affairs: Piet Hein Donner (CDA)
Security and Justice: Ivo Opstelten (VVD)
Infrastructure and environment: Melanie Schultz van Haegen (VVD)
Defence: Hans Hillen (CDA)
Foreign affairs: Uri Rosenthal (VVD)
Immigration and asylum affairs: Gerd Leers (CDA)
Education: Marja van Bijsterveld (CDA)
Finance: Jan Kees de Jager (CDA)
Health: Edith Schippers (VVD)
Junior ministers
Justice: Fred Teeven (VVD)
Foreign affairs: Ben Knapen (CDA)
Social affairs: Paul de Krom (VVD)
Economic affairs: Henk Bleker (CDA)
Finance: Frans Weekers (VVD)
Education: Halbe Zijlstra (VVD)
Infrastructure and environment: Joop Atsma (CDA)
Health, welfare and sport: Marlies Veldhuijzen van Zanten-Hyllner (CDA)

Thank you for donating to

We could not provide the Dutch News service, and keep it free of charge, without the generous support of our readers. Your donations allow us to report on issues you tell us matter, and provide you with a summary of the most important Dutch news each day.

Make a donation