Wadden Sea added to Unesco heritage list

The Wadden Sea – an area of islands, sea and mud flats stretching from the Netherlands to Denmark – has won inclusion on Unesco’s list of world heritage sites.

The listing means there are now eight Dutch sites on the list out of a nearly 900 locations which Unesco considers as having ‘outstanding universal value’.
The Wadden Sea has a total length of some 500 km and a total area of about 10,000 km².
Many of the islands are popular holiday resorts.
According to the Volkskrant, not all the islander are happy with the recognition, because they fear their freedoms might be curtailed. But the NRC says only uninhabited parts of the Wadden Sea are included in the area which has been granted protection.
The Danish part of the region is not included in the protected area because Denmark was not involved in the campaign to get the Wadden Sea included, states Nos tv.
The other Dutch entries are:
* Schokland and Surroundings
* Defence Line of Amsterdam
* Historic Area of Willemstad, Inner City and Harbour, Netherlands Antilles
* Mill Network at Kinderdijk-Elshout
* Ir.D.F. Woudagemaal (D.F. Wouda Steam Pumping Station)
* Droogmakerij de Beemster (Beemster Polder)
* Rietveld Schröderhuis (Rietveld Schröder House)

Thank you for donating to DutchNews.nl.

We could not provide the Dutch News service, and keep it free of charge, without the generous support of our readers. Your donations allow us to report on issues you tell us matter, and provide you with a summary of the most important Dutch news each day.

Make a donation