More New Year swims organised

Some 52 different seaside and fresh water resorts will stage New Year’s swims this year, the Telegraaf reports on Monday.

The first New Year’s Day dip took place in Zandvoort in 1960. This year’s total, which includes Breda, Zoetermeer and Woudenberg, is double last year’s.

Thank you for donating to

We could not provide the Dutch News service, and keep it free of charge, without the generous support of our readers. Your donations allow us to report on issues you tell us matter, and provide you with a summary of the most important Dutch news each day.

Make a donation