Final selection made for Euro 2008

National soccer coach Marco van Basten has dropped Seville’s Khalid Boulahrouz from his final squad for the Euro 2008 football championship, bringing the total selection to 23.

Boulahrouz has been dogged by injury for most of the season.
The final selection is made up of:
Keepers: Edwin van der Sar, Maarten Stekelenburg, Henk Timmer
Defense: Wilfred Bouma, Tim de Cler, John Heitinga, Joris Mathijsen, Mario Melchiot, André Ooijer, Giovanni van Bronckhorst
Midfield: Ibrahim Afellay, Orlando Engelaar, Nigel de Jong, Wesley Sneijder, Rafael van der Vaart, Demy de Zeeuw
Forwards: Ryan Babel, Klaas-Jan Huntelaar, Dirk Kuijt, Ruud van Nistelrooij, Robin van Persie, Arjen Robben, Jan Vennegoor of Hesselink.

Thank you for donating to

We could not provide the Dutch News service, and keep it free of charge, without the generous support of our readers. Your donations allow us to report on issues you tell us matter, and provide you with a summary of the most important Dutch news each day.

Make a donation