Few surprises in national football squad

Dutch football coach Marco van Basten has made a preliminary selection of 30 players for the European championship in Switzerland and Austria this summer.

Pundits say there are no real surprises in the list, apart from the inclusion of a fourth keeper, Sander Boschker. The final choice of 23 players will be announced on May 28.
The full list in the preliminary selection:
Keepers: Sander Boschker (FC Twente), Edwin van der Sar (Manchester United), Maarten Stekelenburg (Ajax), Henk Timmer (Feyenoord)
Defence: Wilfred Bouma (Aston Villa), Tim de Cler (Feyenoord), Urby Emanuelson (Ajax), John Heitinga (Ajax), Kew Jaliens (AZ), Joris Mathijsen (HSV), Mario Melchiot (Wigan Athletic), André Ooijer (Blackburn Rovers)
Midfield: Ibrahim Afellay (PSV), Giovanni van Bronckhorst (Feyenoord), Orlando Engelaar (FC Twente), Nigel de Jong (HSV), Denny Landzaat (Feyenoord), Hedwiges Maduro (Valencia), Clarence Seedorf (AC Milan), Wesley Sneijder (Real Madrid), Rafael van der Vaart (HSV), Demy de Zeeuw (AZ)
Attack: Ryan Babel (Liverpool), Klaas-Jan Huntelaar (Ajax), Danny Koevermans (PSV), Dirk Kuijt (Liverpool), Ruud van Nistelrooij (Real Madrid), Robin van Persie (Arsenal), Arjen Robben (Real Madrid), Jan Vennegoor of Hesselink (Celtic)

Thank you for donating to DutchNews.nl.

We could not provide the Dutch News service, and keep it free of charge, without the generous support of our readers. Your donations allow us to report on issues you tell us matter, and provide you with a summary of the most important Dutch news each day.

Make a donation