Randstad province on back burner

The cabinet has no immediate plans to create a new metropolitan Randstand province, made up of the four big cities (Amsterdam, The Hague, Rotterdam and Utrecht) as recommended by a government working party earlier this year.

Transport minister Camiel Eurlings said that the creation of an umbrella province would not solve traffic and other problems facing the cities.

Thank you for donating to DutchNews.nl.

We could not provide the Dutch News service, and keep it free of charge, without the generous support of our readers. Your donations allow us to report on issues you tell us matter, and provide you with a summary of the most important Dutch news each day.

Make a donation