General election in Dutch Antilles today

Inhabitants of the Dutch Antilles, part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, are voting for new members of their five governing councils today. A central theme on all five islands (Curaçao, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius, Saba and Sint-Maarten) is their future relationship with the Netherlands.

In 2008, Bonaire, Saba and Sint Eustatius will become a special Dutch municipality. In exchange for financial help, the Dutch cabinet is asking for stricter control of financial and judicial matters. Sint-Maarten wil become an autonomous country, like Aruba. No agreement has yet been made with Curaçao.

Thank you for donating to

We could not provide the Dutch News service, and keep it free of charge, without the generous support of our readers. Your donations allow us to report on issues you tell us matter, and provide you with a summary of the most important Dutch news each day.

Make a donation