Several nominations for parliamentary chair

Outgoing defence minister Henk Kamp has been nominated for the job of parliamentary chairman by his party the VVD (Liberals). Other candidates for the job include PvdA (Labour) MPs Mariƫtte Hamer and Gerdi Verbeet. The job has become vacant because Frans Weisglas, who has chaired all parliamentary proceedings since 2002, has quit politics.

Thank you for donating to

We could not provide the Dutch News service, and keep it free of charge, without the generous support of our readers. Your donations allow us to report on issues you tell us matter, and provide you with a summary of the most important Dutch news each day.

Make a donation