Autonomy for former colonies

The Antillian islands of Curacao and Sint Maarten are to become autonomous countries within the Kingdom of the Netherlands. The decision was reached after two days of talks between the Antillian and Dutch governments.

In October it was agreed that the three smaller islands in population terms – Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba – would get their own mayors and local councils.
The agreements mean that the Dutch Antilles will no longer exist as a single state.
The Netherlands is also prepared to take over its’ former colony’s debts of some €2.3b, news agency ANP reported.

Thank you for donating to

We could not provide the Dutch News service, and keep it free of charge, without the generous support of our readers. Your donations allow us to report on issues you tell us matter, and provide you with a summary of the most important Dutch news each day.

Make a donation