Monday 05 December 2022

Animal rights MPs refuse loyalty oath to the new king

Party leader Marianne Thieme, MP Esther Ouwehand and senator Niko Koffieman from the animal rights party PvdD will not swear the oath of allegiance to the new king on April 30.

The three announced on Tuesday they will congratulate Willem-Alexander after his inauguration but will not swear the oath which ‘implies a certain loyalty to the new king’, according to Nos television.

‘As a parliamentarian you can then not fulfil your task without a weight on your shoulder or consultation,’ Thieme told the Volkskrant.

All members of the upper and lower house are asked to swear loyalty to the king on April 30. Two Socialist party MPs have already refused to do so.

Thank you for donating to

The team would like to thank all the generous readers who have made a donation in recent weeks. Your financial support has helped us to expand our coverage of the coronavirus crisis into the evenings and weekends and make sure you are kept up to date with the latest developments. has been free for 14 years, but without the financial backing of our readers, we would not be able to provide you with fair and accurate news and features about all things Dutch. Your contributions make this possible.

If you have not yet made a donation, but would like to, you can do so via Ideal, credit card or Paypal.