Wednesday 06 July 2022

Several MPs will refuse to swear oath of allegiance to new king

At least two MPs from the Socialist Party have said they will not swear allegiance to King Willem-Alexander at his investiture in April because they are republicans.

Sadet Karabulut and Farshad Bashir say they already swore an oath when they became MPs and will not attend the ceremony on April 30 to go through the process again.

Willem-Alexander will be inaugurated as king in front of all the members of the upper and lower houses of parliament. During the ceremony, all 225 parliamentarians take it turns to say: ‘I swear to maintain your inviolability and the rights of your kingship.’


According to Nos television, a number of other SP politicians are considering avoiding the ceremony, as are the two MPs for the animal rights PvdD.

They are said to be consulting legal experts about what the ‘rights of kingship’ mean. If this means the king can hunt animals, then they too will boycott the ceremony.

Nos says there are no consquences attached to any refusal to swear the oath and the inauguration will continue as normal.

Thank you for donating to

The team would like to thank all the generous readers who have made a donation in recent weeks. Your financial support has helped us to expand our coverage of the coronavirus crisis into the evenings and weekends and make sure you are kept up to date with the latest developments. has been free for 14 years, but without the financial backing of our readers, we would not be able to provide you with fair and accurate news and features about all things Dutch. Your contributions make this possible.

If you have not yet made a donation, but would like to, you can do so via Ideal, credit card or Paypal.