Friday 02 December 2022

Dutch euro group chief Dijsselbloem will keep everyone in the eurozone

Finance minister Jeroen Dijsselbloem, elected leader of the EU euro group on Monday evening, says he is not in favour of ejecting any countries from the eurozone.

This is in direct opposition to his predecessor Jan Kees de Jager and current prime minister Mark Rutte, says the Financieele Dagblad.

Dijsselbloem told the paper the euro group has entered a new phase. ‘The deepest point of the crisis is behind us and it is not fruitful to continue discussing the integrity of the eurozone and keeping it together,’ he told the FD.

The minister said earlier he would follow his predecessor’s policy, which is supported by parliament. That policy said having to leave the eurozone was the final consequence for countries that do not keep to European agreements on restructuring and budgets.

‘We now have to concentrate on strengthening the eurozone, which has remained together through the crisis. Asking which countries should stay in the eurozone does not help,’ Dijsselbloem said.


Thank you for donating to

The team would like to thank all the generous readers who have made a donation in recent weeks. Your financial support has helped us to expand our coverage of the coronavirus crisis into the evenings and weekends and make sure you are kept up to date with the latest developments. has been free for 14 years, but without the financial backing of our readers, we would not be able to provide you with fair and accurate news and features about all things Dutch. Your contributions make this possible.

If you have not yet made a donation, but would like to, you can do so via Ideal, credit card or Paypal.