Dictionary of Dutchness

Provinciale Staten

The Provinciale Staten are the governments which manage regional affairs, such as planning and transport, in the 12 Dutch provinces. They are directly elected every four years. The provincial governments are headed by the Commissaris van de Koningin or Queen’s Commissioner, a crown appointee. The 75 members of the senate (upper house of parliament) are chosen by the Provinciale Staten members.

All typical untranslatable Dutch words and expressions translated in the Dictionairy of Dutchness
Thank you for donating to DutchNews.nl.

We could not provide the Dutch News service, and keep it free of charge, without the generous support of our readers. Your donations allow us to report on issues you tell us matter, and provide you with a summary of the most important Dutch news each day.

Make a donation