The Dutch take five of six titles at European allround skating

Dutch skaters took five out of the six medals at this year’s European allround speed skating championships this weekend.

Sven Kramer took the men’s title – his sixth – meaning he has now equalised Rinjte Ritsma’s record.

Jan Blokhuijsen took the silver and the bronze went to Norway’s Håvard Bøkko.
In the women’s event, Ireen Wüst took the gold. She earlier took the title in 2008. Linda de Vries won silver and Diane Valkenburg bronze. The last time the Dutch women took all three medals was in 1968.

The men’s competition involves races of 500m, 1,500m, 5km and 10km; the women’s 500m, 1,500m, 3km and 5km.