Cabinet will not sign or ratify Acta treaty

The Dutch cabinet will not sign or ratify the Acta treaty on international authors’ rights whatever the European parliament decides, economic affairs minister Maxime Verhagen and junior justice minister Fred Teeven told MPs in a briefing on Monday.

‘The government has taken the standpoint that it will not sign until it has been indisputably shown to be in line with the constitution,’ the briefing said.
Parliament earlier adopted two motions calling on the cabinet to reject the treaty, saying it is too open to ‘unintentioned interpretations with negative consequences’.
Five EU committees have already rejected the plan and the European parliament is expected to vote against it on July 4. EU commissioner Neelie Kroes, who holds the digital agenda portfolio, is also opposed.

Acta set to fail after EU trade committee votes against it

What is your position on Acta? Have your say in the comments form below.