All change at Ajax as supervisory board and others step down

The supervisory board at Amsterdam football club Ajax resigned on Thursday, ahead of a crucial shareholders meeting and just days after Johan Cruijff won a court case against the club

The board, made up of Cruijff, Steven ten Have, Marjan Olfers, Paul Römer and Edgar Davids, were named last July in an effort to restore calm to the troubled club.
On Tuesday, Amsterdam’s appeal court said the board was wrong to sideline Cruijff in appointing Louis van Gaal as coach and Martin Sturkenboom as interim director. Strukenboom and acting technical director Danny Blind also stood down.
Former international Cruijff and 15 of the Amsterdam club’s youth trainers went to court in an effort to have the appointments overturned.
The Ajax association, which owns 73% of the club’s shares, was planning to vote in favour of a no-confidence motion at Friday’s extraordinary shareholders meeting. Ajax is the Netherlands’ only listed football club.
Ajax shareholders’ and the club’s council can now recommend new board members to take over. The supervisory board members will leave the club when replacements are found, the Telegraaf reported.
More on this