Provinciale Staten

The Provinciale Staten are the governments which manage regional affairs, such as planning and transport, in the 12 Dutch provinces. They are directly elected every four years. The provincial governments are headed by the Commissaris van de Koningin or Queen’s Commissioner, a crown appointee. The 75 members of the senate (upper house of parliament) are chosen by the Provinciale Staten members.