Dutch women take last hockey Champions Trophy with Australia win

The Dutch women’s hockey team on Sunday won the 23rd and last edition of the Champions Trophy competition, beating Australia 5-1 in the final.

Oranje won all six matches in the competition, which took place in China. It is the seventh time the Netherlands has won the title – the same as Argentina. Australia has taken the trophy six times.

Earlier this year, the Dutch women successfully defended their world title and took the European title as well. Oranje, now without several big names who have recently retired, have won their last 43 games in a row.

The Champions Trophy competition will be replaced by the Hockey Pro League, which will feature nine teams, from next year.

DutchNews.nl has been free for 12 years, but now we are asking our readers to help. Your donation will enable us to keep providing you with fair and accurate news and features about all things Dutch.
Donate via Ideal, credit card or Paypal.